It has been three weeks since I have had a regular blogging schedule, but with my term papers finally completed, I am going back to normal this week.

So, on that note, welcome to this week’s installment of Weekend Compilations, a blog post where I share links to my favorite blog posts from the previous week.

Sunday: Sarah Bessey shares “In which we get this part of the Incarnation.” She writes, “If more women were pastors or preachers, we’d have a lot more sermons and books about the metaphors of birth and pregnancy connecting us to the story of God. (I am rather tired of sports and war metaphors.) The divinity of God is on display at Christmas in beautiful creche scenes. We sing songs of babies who don’t cry. We mistake quiet for peace. A properly antiseptic and church-y view of birth, arranged as high art to convey the seriousness and sacredness of the incarnation. It is as though the truth of birth is too secular for Emmanuel, it doesn’t look too holy in its real state.

Monday: Amy Jeffers (my sister) shares about “Adeline.” She writes, “Adeline was playing with another little girl and the other girl stole her toy. Adeline then called her a not so nice word multiple times. My heart stopped for a second, because a little girl that was suppose to be so pure said something that was not honorable or loving at all. Adeline then proceeded to be mean to this other girl. I told Adeline to apologize and she grudgingly in a huff, said, “Sorry!”…obviously, she didn’t really mean it. When I told Adeline to say it nicer, she called me a different not so nice word and marched off.”

Tuesday: Addie Zierman discusses “The words and the Word.” She writes, “I keep thinking about all the words. The ones I have to write. Blog posts and guest posts and essays. Freelancing projects pushed to the side but coming due: newsletters, website updates, employee bios. The words take time and space and a lot of staring out the coffee shop window. I am a slow writer. I’m up at 4:30 or 5 every morning, working in the darkness. Then I’m gone two mornings a week for three-hour chunks that disappear under my fingers as I write, write, write. And still, it’s never quite enough – the bits of writing time I scrape together from the wild, constant work of mothering are a threadbare blanket that never covers me all the way up.”

Wednesday: Rachel Held Evans shares “This is Christ’s body, broken for you . . .” She writes, “When the first group of junior high students arrived for the weekend retreat, streaming out of their crammed First United Methodist Church buses like ants out of a disturbed bed, I marveled at their young faces. These were just kids, former babies whose September 11, 2001 included a naptime. I’d spent the week before reworking all my usual talks for a younger audience, whittling them down to their essence, working in more stories and updating my illustrations, taking out any references to menstruation. When I asked Dan for advice, he made a crack about Gangnam Style…which I had to google.”

Thursday: Richard Beck explains “Forgive us our Trespasses. Where’d that come from?” He writes, “Because this is the sort of thing I do for fun I thought I’d share a bit of sleuthing regarding the Lord’s Prayer. Have you ever noticed when praying the Lord’s Prayer aloud that everybody does good until you get to the line “forgive us our…”? At that point in the prayer cacophony breaks out as some people say “debts” and others say “trespasses.”

Friday: Peter Enns explains that “Bilbo—I Mean, Adam—Was a Historical Person (And Ken Ham has a poster to prove it).” He writes, “If I may be blunt, it does not take much effort to see a crippling problem with Ham’s reasoning, especially with respect to d and e, but also indirectly a-c: Fictional stories also have characters who do physical things and recount the flow of time. Pick your favorite completely made up, fictional story, and you will see (1) characters who do things that require a physical body, (2) characters doing things that require the passage of time (i.e., “history”), and (3) a world with day and night and places that have names.

Saturday: Diana Trautwein, posting on Rachel’s blog, shares her story of “Ruth – A Woman of Valor.” She writes, “Can you hear this? Can you see it? THIS is the too-high cost of wrong-headed teaching about humankind, most especially about women.This is the fruit of a viper-filled tree of second-best, the-husband-always-knows-better, the male ego is a fragile, to-be-protected-at-all-costs thing, even if that cost is the very soul of the woman who protects it. And this is the fruit of living with a verbally abusive, alcoholic father who repeatedly squanders the family savings – and the hearts of his own children – in pursuit of his demons.”

On the bog, I wrote on Monday about “God?” I wrote, “We went to the park last night and looked up at the stars and talked. Looking up at the stars distresses me because I realize just how infinite the universe is and just how tiny I am. This bothers me because—emotionally—it’s tough to picture God up there, in there, somewhere. Doesn’t she get lonely out there in the cold? And, anyway, what kind of loving God would let earth get consumed by the sun in a few billion years? Which is why, for me, God’s transcendence is scary, but her immanence is comforting.”

