Too late loved I Thee, O Thou Beauty of ancient days.

I’m no Augustinian, but I get his temptation. Especially for a former Manichean.

Thou wert within, and I abroad, and there I searched for Thee.

The old Gnosticism transformed. The dualism in place.

Things held me far from Thee, which, unless they were in Thee, were not at all.

Late have I loved the world around me. Only recently seeing the Grace.

When I shall with my whole self cleave to Thee, I shall no where have sorrow or labour; and my life shall wholly live, as wholly full of Thee

When I have loved the world at Heaven’s expense, forsaking its glory for the fragile, broken people of this imperfect creation, I shall know God.

Lamentable joys strive with joyous sorrows: and on which side is the victory, I know not.

Amen.

(you can find the full text of Confessions here)

