Sunset PaintingO God, be not far from me; O my God, make haste to help me!

Closer than my breath to my lungs and closer than my blood to my heart; though I walk in shadow, O God be thou my light.

May my accusers be put to shame and consumed; may they who seek my hurt be covered with scorn and disgrace.

Against Principalities and Powers we war, not against flesh and blood; may my enemies be bound.

But I will hope continually, and will praise thee yet more and more.

For Sister Dawn rises in the east as she always has, for Brother Dusk sets in the west; hope, my soul.

My mouth will tell of thy righteous acts, of thy deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge.

May the light of the past shine undimmed before my eyes; may I testify to your beauty!

With the mighty deeds of the Lord God I will come, I will praise thy righteousness, thine alone.

Thy will be done on earth as in Heaven; grant me grace to see your restoration of all things!

O God, from my youth thou hast taught me, and I still proclaim thy wondrous deeds.

My heart is steadfast. Amen.

(Psalm 71:12-17, RSV)

